Wednesday, November 29, 2006

Congratulations to More NL Writers

* Updated with even more recognition for NL writers.

Congratulations to Kathleen Winter, who is the winner of the 2nd Annual Metcalf-Rooke Award . The judges called her "a new and distinctive voice in Canadian writing". As a fan of her column in the Telegram, I really look forward to reading her stories.

Also, congratulations to Kenneth J. Harvey (who I affectionately call Kevin and Russell Wangersky (who I affectionately, and somehow correctly, call Russell--I even manage to get "Wangersky" right--it's "Kenneth" I have problems with), whose books--Inside and The Hour of Bad Decisions respectively, were named in the Globe and Mail's Globe 100 list of the best books of 2006. Also, to Lisa Moore. The book of short stories she edited, The Penguin Book of Contemporary Canadian Women's Short Stories was also in the Globe 100. As well, I read that Inside was on Quill and Quire's list of the top ten books of 2006.

Well done, everyone (and if I have somehow missed some other awards or acknowledgements of NL writers--they are coming fast and furious for them--please let me know).

*Congratulations to those short-listed for the Heritage and History Award (an award presented by the Writers' Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador in partnership with the the Historic Sites Association for a work of fiction, non-fiction, poetry or children's literature that exemplifies excellence in the interpretation of the history and heritage of Newfoundland and Labrador):

Michael Crummey for The Wreckage, Doubleday Canada
Harold Davis for The Starrigans of Little Brook Bottom, Creative Book Publishing
Leo Furey for The Long Run, Key Porter Books
Nellie Strowbridge for Far From Home, Flanker Press

The winner will be announced at WANL's monthly reading in December (and Christmas party) on Monday, December 4 at the LSPU Hall Gallery at 8 p.m. The reading this month will be by Michelle Butler Hallett from her new book The shadow side of grace. All are welcome.


Post a Comment

<< Home